切换到:

糖尿病

切换到:
切换到:

在卓护医疗中心,我们知道,许多患者的健康取决于预防糖尿病的发生和可能出现的风险因素。对于一些人来说,可能已经被确诊为糖尿病,这种情况下,挑战在于如何控制病情,以便改善整体健康状况。有些人在生活中身边可能有糖尿病患者,只是想了解一下如何鼓励他们对生活方式进行重大改变。如果您认为自己可能会有患糖尿病的风险,或者已经知道自己患有糖尿病,请继续阅读,了解我们的护理团队如何帮助您监测健康状况并预防潜在的并发症。

糖尿病是最常见的内分泌系统失调疾病,在美国,糖尿病患者超过 3000 万人。当血糖水平持续高于正常水平时,就会发生这种疾病,可能是由于您的身体不能制造胰岛素(1型)、您的身体对胰岛素的效果没有反应(2型),或怀孕(妊娠型)引起的。

大多数成年人的主要风险是 2 型糖尿病,而您出现这种情况的机会取决于风险因素的组合,包括遗传和生活方式。虽然您无法改变家族史、年龄或种族等风险因素,但您可以监测自己的饮食习惯、体育活动和体重,以降低风险。如果以下一种或多种情况适用于您,则您更有可能患上 2 型糖尿病:

  • 超重、肥胖,或不爱运动
  • 年龄 45 岁或以上
  • 非裔美国人、阿拉斯加土著人、美国印第安人、亚裔美国人、西班牙/拉丁人、夏威夷土著人或太平洋岛民
  • 有 2 型糖尿病、妊娠期糖尿病、心脏病或中风的家族史
  • 高血压
  • 高密度脂蛋白(HDL)(“好”胆固醇)水平低或甘油三酯(血液中的脂肪)水平高
  • 生产过体重 9 磅或以上的婴儿
  • 患有多囊卵巢综合症(育龄妇女常见的荷尔蒙失调)

根据美国糖尿病协会的建议,如果您没有糖尿病的典型症状(如过度口渴和排尿),则应在 45 岁时进行测试,并每隔 3 年测试一次,特别是超重或肥胖的情况更应如此。如果您的年龄小于 45 岁,但存在额外的危险因素,那么您应在更早的年龄进行更频繁的筛查。如果您处于糖尿病前期,则应考虑进行年度常规体检。

糖尿病不加以控制会导致健康并发症,如心脏病、中风、视力问题、肾衰竭、神经损伤、胃轻瘫、勃起功能障碍和皮肤问题。而且,其中部分并发症会导致严重的后果,包括失明、因血流不畅而截肢,甚至死亡。因此,如果您认为自己有风险,接受筛查是至关重要的。

如果您认为自己有患糖尿病的风险,或者您可能已经患有糖尿病,您应该今天就与您的主治医生(PCP)安排一次筛查。

注册订阅我们的“糖尿病通讯”

参与我们的医护人员和临床专家持续对话。

提交此表格即表示您同意通过所提供的电子邮件地址接收卓护医疗中心(ACPNY)的糖尿病通讯。您的电子邮件地址将不会与外界分享,卓护医疗中心(ACPNY)也不会将其用于任何其他目的。您可以在任何时候取消订阅,取消订阅也不会影响您从卓护医疗中心(ACPNY)收到任何其他通信。

提交问题或主题想法

如果您没有免疫接种,您就不能完全抵抗 COVID-19。了解更多。
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Switch to:

Diabetes

Switch to:
Switch to:

Diabetes

diabetes landingpageV4

At AdvantageCare Physicians, we understand that good health for many of our patients depends on preventing the onset of diabetes and the risk factors it may present. For some, a diabetes diagnosis may already be known, and the challenge is managing the condition to improve overall health. Others may have a person with diabetes in their life and just want to know how to be encouraging about important lifestyle changes. If you think you may be at risk of developing diabetes or already know you have it, read on to learn how our Care Teams can help you monitor your health and prevent potential complications. 

Diabetes is the most common endocrine system disorder and affects more than 30 million people in the United States. This disease occurs when blood sugar levels are consistently above normal and can be caused by your body’s inability to make insulin (Type 1), your body not responding to the effects of insulin (Type 2), or pregnancy (Gestational).

The primary risk for most adults is type 2 diabetes, and your chances of developing this condition depend on a combination of risk factors, including genetics and lifestyle. Although you can’t change risk factors like family history, age, or ethnicity, you can monitor your eating habits, physical activity, and body weight to decrease your risk. You are more likely to develop type 2 diabetes if one or more of the following describes you:

  • Overweight, obese, or not physically active
  • Age 45 or over
  • African American, Alaska Native, American Indian, Asian American, Hispanic/Latino, Native Hawaiian, or Pacific Islander
  • A family history of type 2 diabetes, gestational diabetes, heart disease, or stroke
  • High blood pressure
  • Low level of HDL (“good” cholesterol) or a high level of triglycerides (fat in your blood)
  • Given birth to a baby weighing nine pounds or more
  • Have polycystic ovary syndrome (hormonal disorder common among women of reproductive age)

According to the American Diabetes Association, if you don’t have classic symptoms of diabetes (e.g., excessive thirst and urination), testing should occur at age 45 and continue at three-year intervals, especially if you are overweight or obese. If you are younger than 45 but have additional risk factors, you should be screened at an earlier age and more frequently. And, if you have prediabetes, an annual check-up should be considered.

Uncontrolled diabetes can lead to health complications like heart disease, stroke, vision problems, kidney failure, nerve damage, gastroparesis, erectile dysfunction, and skin problems. And, some of these complications can lead to severe consequences, including blindness, amputation due to poor blood flow, and even death. That’s why it’s critical that you get screened if you think you’re at risk. 

If you believe you are at risk of developing diabetes, or that you may already have it, you should schedule a screening with your Primary Care Provider (PCP) today. 

Sign up for our Diabetes Newsletter

Be part of the ongoing conversation with our providers and clinical experts.

Submitting this form signals your consent to receive ACPNY's diabetes newsletter at the email address provided. Your email address will not be shared with outside parties, nor will ACPNY use it for any other purpose. You may unsubscribe at any time, however this request will not impact any other communications you receive from ACPNY.

Submit a question or topic idea