切换到:

照顾我们的亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民 (AAPI) 患者

切换到:
切换到:

照顾我们的亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民 (AAPI) 患者

胃痛的女孩

卓护医疗中心 (ACPNY) 如何照顾我们的亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民患者

作者:Raymond Xu 医生和 Qian Gu 医生

作为亚裔美国人/太平洋岛民 (AAPI) 社区的成员,我们回忆起自己作为患者的经历,以及我们在寻求护理时有时面临的挑战。由于文化身份,我们社区的一些成员可能觉得与医护人员开诚布公地交谈以获得我们所需的护理更加困难。

 

但现在,作为服务于大量 AAPI 患者群体的医疗服务提供方,我们能够从患者和医护人员角度了解护理体验,并解决以下困难:

  • 感到被排斥:您可能会觉得自己被视作“其他人”,并面临不受欢迎的问题,例如您来自哪里。即使您在美国长大或出生,您也可能感觉自己被视为非美国人。
  • 语言障碍:大约 77% 的 AAPI 群体在家使用英语以外的语言。虽然在您接受护理的地方通常提供电话翻译服务,但在讨论性或心理健康等敏感问题时,使用这些服务可能会让您感到不舒服。
  • 心理健康服务:在许多 AAPI 文化中,讨论心理健康被认为是禁忌,导致很难发现抑郁或焦虑的症状。您也可能害怕您的医护人员、家人和朋友的判断。或者,您可能无法找到了解您文化背景的治疗师或精神病医生。
  • 不同的治疗方法:许多 AAPI 文化具有他们自己对疾病和治疗的独特期望和理解,您可能对替代治疗(例如,整体治疗和草药营养补充品)以及美国通常的处方治疗感兴趣。

为什么获得您需要的护理非常重要。

尽管这里描述了障碍和困难,但在寻求护理时不要气馁,这一点非常重要。如果您避免常规治疗和定期体检,则您的健康将面临风险,例如错过了能够预防或尽可能减少某些危及生命状况影响的关键筛查。AAPI 社区的常见疾病包括:

  • 癌症:AAPI 社区是唯一一个以癌症为主要死因的美国人群。与其他美国族群相比,他们的肝癌和胃癌发病率要高得多,但筛查率也低得多。
  • 糖尿病:AAPI 社区被诊断患有糖尿病的可能性比美国高加索人人群高出 40% 左右。这可能是遗传、高碳水化合物饮食、体脂分布和胰岛素抵抗的结果。
  • 胃部疾病:酸反流、细菌感染和胃癌在 AAPI 社区中都非常常见。这可能是由饮用热茶引起的,热茶会侵蚀胃和食管内壁。槟榔等食物也会增加患口腔癌的风险。
  • 肝炎:尽管 AAPI 社区仅占人口的 5%,但它占美国乙型肝炎病例的 50%。在这些情况下,近三分之二的人甚至不知道自己被感染了。

对于所有这些情况,定期筛查和早期检测可以带来更有效的治疗或管理。因此,坚持您的常规治疗非常重要。

 

卓护医疗中心 (ACPNY) 如何为您提供帮助?

在卓护医疗中心 (ACPNY),我们理解您在寻求护理时可能会有各种担忧。因此,我们多元化的医护人员团队致力于倾听您想要分享的一切,使您的就诊尽可能轻松和舒适。从您的第一次就诊开始,我们将努力营造一种信任感,这将使对话更加开放。此外,如果您喜欢用英语以外的语言交谈,我们也为书面材料和诊所会面提供翻译。我们希望采取这些措施并与您建立个人联系,将鼓励您定期来就诊,并帮助您实现最佳的健康结果。

 

点击此处,详细了解我们为多元化患者群体服务的承诺,或立即安排您的下一次约诊

 

为了纪念阵亡将士纪念日,大多数卓护医疗中心 (ACPNY) 诊所都将按假期时间表运营。为方便起见,部分诊所将继续营业。 了解更多。

Switch to:

Caring for Our AAPI Patients

Switch to:
Switch to:

Caring for Our AAPI Patients

girl with stomach pain

How ACPNY Cares for Our Asian American and Pacific Islander Patients

By: Drs. Raymond Xu and Qian Gu

As members of the Asian American/Pacific Islander (AAPI) community ourselves, we recall our own experiences as patients and the challenges we sometimes face when seeking care. For some members of our community, it may even feel like our cultural identity makes it more difficult to speak openly with providers to get the care we need.

 

But now, as health care providers who serve a large AAPI patient population, we’re able to understand both the patient and provider side of the care experience and address difficulties such as:

  • Feeling Excluded: You may feel like you’re perceived as “other” and face unwelcome questions about where you come from. You may also feel like you’re considered non-American, even if you were raised or born in the U.S.
  • Language Barrier: Approximately 77% of the AAPI population speaks a language other than English at home. Although telephonic translator services are often available where you receive care, you may feel uncomfortable using these services when discussing sensitive concerns such as sexual or mental health.
  • Mental Health Access: In many AAPI cultures, discussing mental health is considered taboo, which makes it difficult to identify symptoms of depression or anxiety. You may also fear judgment from your provider, family members, and friends. Or, you may have trouble finding a therapist or psychiatrist who understands your cultural background.
  • Differing Approaches to Treatment: Many AAPI cultures come with their own unique expectations and understandings of illnesses and treatments, and you may be interested in alternative treatments (e.g., holistic treatment and herbal supplements) in addition to the treatments typically prescribed in the U.S.

Why It’s So Important to Get the Care You Need.

Despite the barriers and difficulties described here, it’s incredibly important to not become discouraged when seeking care. If you avoid routine care and regular checkups, you’re putting your health at risk, for example by missing critical screenings that could prevent or minimize the effects of certain life-threatening conditions. Common conditions in the AAPI community include:

  • Cancer: The AAPI community is the only U.S. population whose leading cause of death is cancer. Compared to other U.S. ethnic groups, they have much higher rates of liver and stomach cancer, but lower rates of screening.
  • Diabetes: The AAPI community is about 40% more likely to be diagnosed with diabetes than the Caucasian population in the U.S. This is likely the result of genetics, high-carb diets, body fat distribution, and insulin resistance.
  • Stomach Conditions: Acid reflux, bacterial infections, and stomach cancer are all very common in the AAPI community. This is possibly caused by consumption of hot teas, which can erode the stomach and esophageal lining. Certain foods like betel nuts can also increase the risk for mouth cancer.
  • Hepatitis: The AAPI community accounts for 50% of hepatitis B cases in the U.S., despite making up only 5% of the population. Nearly two-thirds of people in these cases don’t even know they’re infected.

For all of these conditions, regular screenings and early detection can lead to more effective treatment or management. That’s why it’s so important to keep up with your routine care.

 

How Can ACPNY Help You?

At AdvantageCare Physicians (ACPNY), we understand that you may have a variety of concerns on your mind when seeking care. That’s why our diverse team of providers is committed to listening to everything you want to share and making your visit as easy and comfortable as possible. Starting with your first visit, we’ll work to create a sense of trust that will lead to more open conversations. And, if you’d prefer conversing in a language other than English, we also offer translations for our written materials and in-office encounters. We hope that taking these steps and forming a personal connection with you will encourage you to visit us regularly and help you achieve the best possible health outcomes.

 

Learn more about our commitment to serving our diverse patient population here, or schedule your next appointment today.